Where I’ve been, Where I’m going

I’m still here. I’ve spent the last couple months focused on the latest Readymade Breakup release, Live With It. It’s a quick 6-song rocker, cut it in a day at my friend Jesse Cannon’s studio in Union City with a great engineer named Mike Oettinger. I like how it came out. Sounds like somebody duct taped a microphone to the ceiling in one of the beer-soaked, smoke-stained rehearsal rooms I spent my entire 20s playing in all over Jersey. Mmmm. I can smell ’em now. We made some limited edition tees to go along with it. There’s a few left. Get your hands on one while you still can.

rmbu live with it cover art

In other news, life rolls on. I’m looking ahead, trying to get a clear view of what’s next. One thing’s for sure, I want to release Strange vol. 3 sometime later this year. It’s been on my mind since January, I’ve got a bunch of recordings I want to put on it, but I got derailed when we decided to do the Readymade thing. Problem is, these recordings are starting to feel like stones in my pockets. Making it hard to move forward. I’ve got to get it out, and get on with it. I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, you can check out volumes 1 and 2 here.

What else? I’ve got a lot of half-written songs laying around. Truthfully, it’s a bit troubling. Unfinished work, it just sort of hangs over you. Haunts you. Anyway, consider this post a bit of an ice-breaker. Maybe for me more than you. I want to get the machine up and running again and I’m not sure exactly how, except to book a few shows. Which I’ve started to do. You can head over to the Shows page to get informed.

One more thing. I played an open mic this past Tuesday over at The Citizen. It’s a pretty new bar. Used to be a taco joint called The Dopeness. I liked hanging out there when I lived in the area several years back. But at any rate, that place folded up and now we have The Citizen. Two things to note — it’s got a sound system and a liquor license. And they’re booking music. So if you’re in the area, check it out. Maybe I’ll see you there.

Paul

Leave a Comment