Two Sides Of The Same Coin (An Experiment)

10 Jul

As a musician, there is always a balancing act. You want to make the music that makes you feel good, but you also want to create stuff that other people can enjoy.

So along those lines, I’m posting two versions of the same song here. It’s called “Baby Be Mine”.

These were both recorded on my 4 track cassette recorder. The first version is a simple take of me playing guitar and singing the song. When you see me perform live, this is what you get.

Then I went ahead and did 3 more takes on each of the remaining tracks. These were also all spontaneous, single-take performances. Whatever came out, just came out. There are additional vocals, guitars, a harp, and various other noises. Together they change the song into something a bit different, but that I also happen to like just as much.

Which of these versions do you prefer? Is one definitely better than the other? I can’t really tell. Leave me a comment below and let me know what you think.

2 Responses to “Two Sides Of The Same Coin (An Experiment)”

  1. RJ Pollard July 28, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

    The harmonica is nice, but I personally think it takes away from the clean guitar.

  2. Paul July 30, 2014 at 3:28 am #

    Hey RJ yeah I like the purity. I wonder if that sound gets boring though.

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

